Republic County SPARK Funds

What is SPARK?

Through the Federal CARES Act, each State was given funding to allocate to COVID response.  The State of Kansas implemented a SPARK team (Strengthening People and Revitalizing Kansas) in order to expend funds at a county level, with proper guidance and compliance protocol.  This is not a grant, but an allocation made to the county in order to expedite economic recovery.  Guidelines from the Federal CARES Act must be followed.

How is Republic County spending SPARK dollars?

Republic County was allocated $922,000 from the CARES Act funding via SPARK. The Strengthening People and Revitalizing Kansas (SPARK) Taskforce is charged with leading Kansas forward in recovery from the far-reaching effects of COVID-19. The SPARK Executive and Steering Committees, in conjunction with the Office of Recovery team, are responsible for the statewide distribution of CARES Act funding.

There are two components of Phase I of SPARK funding.  The first portion is reimbursable expenses for government, healthcare, non-profits, and school facilities for unbudgeted expenses related to COVID. 

The second portion is for direct aid plans to enable our county to proactively prepare for an additional wave, secure public health, safely reopen, improve connectivity, and recover economically.  If you are a government-related entity that receives funding from the county with expenses during March 1-July 31 that was unbudgeted and related to COVID19, you may apply for reimbursement following the instructions below.

*Click the blue button for the link*

Please read this document first

Reimbursement costs from March 1 – July 31
DUE JULY 30, 2020!

Direct aid from August 1 – December 31
DUE JULY 30, 2020!


What can the money be used for?

  • Public Health Emergency Reimbursements (unbudgeted)
  • COVID-related expenses for public hospitals or clinics
  • Testing and quarantine costs
  • Payroll of employees dedicated to COVID mitigation (unbudgeted)
  • Public telemedicine costs
  • Distance learning costs
  • Telework costs
  • Grants for businesses to reimburse business closures
  • Broadband access
  • May NOT be used for non-profit loss of income
  • Priorities:  healthcare, public health, education, remote work
  • Private sector and non-profit may contact Republic County Economic Development for possible funding assistance

Republic County SPARK Taskforce

  • Susan Aaron – saaron@republiccounty.org – RP Co Emergency Management
  • Adam Anderson – aanderson@bellevillegov.com – City of Belleville, City Manager
  • Jeff Beikmann – jbeikmann@republiccounty.org – RP Co EMS Director
  • Cindy Coons – reptreas@nckcn.com – RP Co Treasurer
  • Melvin Jeardoe – jeardoemelvin@gmail.com -melvin@rhelectric.net – RP Co Commissioner – Talmo-Wayne RFD
  • Steve Joonas – steve.joonas@pikevalley.com – Pike Valley USD 426, Superintendent
  • Dawn Kasl – dkasl@rphospital.org – Republic County Hospital – Infectious Preventionist
  • Larry Lyder – llyder@usd109.org – Republic County USD 109, Superintendent
  • Luke Mahin – rced@nckcn.com – Republic County Economic Development Director (RCED)
  • Kathleen Marsicek – kmarsicek@republiccounty.org – Republic County Clerk
  • Raymond L. Raney – rc4@nckcn.com – RP Co Emergency Manager
  • Waylon Sheetz – bellevilleccms@gmail.com – Belleville Chamber & Main Street Executive Director
  • Edwin Splichal – egsplichal@yahoo.com – RP Co Commissioner
  • Danielle Swanson – rchdhha@nckcn.com – RP Co Health Department Director

Republic County SPARK
Point of Contact

Laura Leite
Cell: (785) 955-2473
spark@republiccounty.org