Election Juggling

Filing Deadline Looms For City, School Boards; Belleville Alcohol Vote Underway

The Republic County Clerk’s office is juggling to keep voters informed about two separate election deadlines underway in the next three weeks.

Advanced voting began Wednesday, May 15, for Belleville city residents only to decide whether Sunday alcohol sales should be allowed in Belleville. Election day for that question is Tuesday, June 4, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

All voting on that issue will take place in the RepublicCounty Clerk’s office at theRepublic County Courthouse.Voters can cast their ballot during regular business hours up to election day, or request a mail ballot.

The Belleville City Council approved a resolution earlier this year to allow Sunday sales, but a petition passed by city residents forced the issue to a vote. In Kansas, Sunday alcohol sales can be allowed by local option.

Scandia is the only city in Republic County that currently allows Sunday sales.

City, School Deadline

Candidates interested in positions on city councils and school boards in Republic County have until noon on Monday, June 3 to file their intentions at the clerk’s office.

Clerk Kathleen Marsicek said to date her office has received only three filings: Doane Sells for Belleville city council, Pete Gile for Scandia city council, and Kim Cerny, Narka, for a position representing Republic County on the River Valley District Extension Board.

Both the RepublicCounty and Pike Valley school boards have four positions open. Monday night at the USD 109board meeting, member Daryl Rieke announced he will not seek re-election.

Openings on the Republic County USD 109board that come open this year are those currently held by Clay Siemsen, Clay Aurand, Kevin Milner and Daryl Rieke (at large).

Positions that will come open on the PikeValley board this year are those currently held by Quinton Bergstrom and Tanner Johnson, Courtland, and Carly Odell, Scandia, and Bryan Rickard, Scandia (at large).

Some Republic County cities will elect five council members and a mayor. Others will elect a mayor and half of their council.